A Friday of All the Colors

Because, if I remember fourth grade art class correctly, black is what you get when you mix the whole of the color spectrum together.  I always ended up with a murky brown, but then, art class was never my strongest.

It is Black Friday, the day after the strange American holiday of Thanksgiving, when we gather in various degrees of willingness in various degrees of family.  And I am thankful, for I have much.  I am thankful for you, Reader, and this space you grant me in your life.  I am thankful for the network of friends who keep me going when I fall apart—for Magister, Watchful, Helpful, Interpreter, and so many others.  And I am thankful for the knowledge that I am not doing this alone.

But I am mindful that “this” is much bigger, and that I can stay inside and avoid the crowds today, but God pushes me ever into the world that has more and less than I do.  He asks that we stand with each other, and acknowledge that all is not well, and that no amount of pumpkin pie can cover the wounds we open and refuse to close.  So today I am thankful, and tomorrow I am thankful, and on Sunday I am thankful.

But I am not called to be idle.  I am working on how to understand being thankful for that.  And my prayers, thoughts, and hopes are with those who are having a very, very hard time remembering for what they are thankful this week.

Stay safe, Reader.  I’ll see you in Advent.

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe[.]  (Hebrews 12:28, NIV)

One thought on “A Friday of All the Colors

  1. Sheila Bigelow says:

    Amen.

    Like

Throw in your two cents

