O’er the Land of the Free

Happy Friday, Reader.  This won’t be terribly long, as I have relatives coming to visit for the holiday and I’ve yet to tackle the kitchen that might well be spawning new life-forms by now.  I’m also a little floored by having just realized we’ve been at this for nearly four years now.  You and I have essentially gone through college together, Reader, although it’s likely both of us have left college itself far behind.  That’s…that’s a while.

But in other news, I wanted to let you know the minor epoch of this week:  I’ve sent in my letter asking for a meeting with my church’s board so as to ask their support for my official candidacy for ministry.  There is so much Kermit-flailing going on for that, Reader; I’ve come to realize that I am so excited for this shift and this opportunity and this path, and I still am well aware that I am flat-out terrified of it.  I think, though, that both are necessary emotions.  Obviously I need to be excited, but I think I’m doing it wrong if I’m not utterly daunted by what professional ministry will look like and what God will ask of me in it.

Hell, I’m utterly daunted by what God asks of me now, and I work in a university office.

So that’s not objectively a Big Deal, but for me it’s A REALLY BIG DEAL ZOMG and, since you’ve stutter-stepped alongside me while I figure that out, I figure you should know.

For my American readers, I wish you a happy holiday weekend.  Considering the extremely high tensions around what it is to represent America and its history at the moment, I think it the better part of valor to simply state that there is one flag for this country and any others belong in museums and then get back to wading through the dishes on my counter.  If you’re interested in further opinions from me, ask.

With that, cheers to your celebrations for the holiday or it simply being the weekend.  Stay safe, Reader; make smart choices, as I always tell my teen students.  I will see you here next week.

 

On that day, Jesse’s Root will be raised high, posted as a rallying banner for the peoples. The nations will all come to him. His headquarters will be glorious.  Also on that day, the Master for the second time will reach out to bring back what’s left of his scattered people.  (Isaiah 11:10-11, MSG)

2 thoughts on “O’er the Land of the Free

  1. Sheila Bigelow says:

    I need a great, big smiley emoticon!  You know what Kierkegaard said about absolute terror (well, he called it dread);  it’s what lets us take the leap of faith.  Go forth, knowing you have a whole, huge cheering section behind you.  Oh yes, and God, continuing to nudge.  You are so loved. Sheila

    Like

Throw in your two cents

